Posted by: bunnyterry | December 22, 2010

Season’s Restaurant – Christmas Eve in Albuquerque’s Old Town

Tis the season of giving and generosity and good wishes, and knowing that, I truly hate to make all of you envious.  But this Christmas Eve, I’m having dinner with my kids and great friends at Season’s Restaurant in Albuquerque’s Old Town (www.seasonsabq.com). 

Season's interior

We opted to get reservations for one of their private rooms, where we’ll sit down to a three course Prix Fixe dinner after wandering the streets of Old Town admiring the lumanarias, drinking hot chocolate at San Felipe de Neri Church, and listening to the carolers in the Plaza gazebo. 

This was our traditional Christmas Eve when we lived in Albuquerque -and we get to repeat it this year with Sabrina and her family now that they live there.  And once our holiday dinner is over, we’ll all drive through the cemetery where there will be a sea of luminarias for us to admire after dark. 

Most folks don’t get excited about going to the cemetery on Christmas Eve, but I’m suggesting you give it a try.  In the afternoon,  locals spend hours decorating graves with luminarias, small trees, poinsettias, glitter and garland – some folks bring coolers full of beer and Coleman stoves with posole or green chile simmering and make an event out of it. 

Only in New Mexico!  For several years I was lucky enough to get to go with my friend Jolynn to decorate her sister’s grave and I loved that so many people took time to pay such obvious tribute to their loved ones.

We know how to celebrate here.  I can’t wait to go to Old Town with my kids, and then to Season’s with my best friend, and then to the cemetery.  It’s the perfect way to spend a holiday in New Mexico.

Responses

  1. Hi, Bunny — I just wanted you to know that I love your blog, and your Christmas Eve plans do make me envious! I love Old Town Albuquerque. I grew up in Fort Sumner — have you ever written about it? At age 9, I was a tour guide at the Billy the Kid Museum. What a wonderful place. Thanks for your blog; I look forward to reading each new post.

    • Libbye – I’d love to post a story about your job when you were 9 – do you have photos? If you want to write a post, we’ll show you as a guest blogger! Have a great holiday. Merry Christmas.

  2. That’s so exciting! Unfortunately, I don’t have photos from back then (and what a shame because those are among my fondest memories!), but I can get photos of the museum now. Would that be OK? Thanks so much!!

  3. This is a great tradition! We’ll check it out, someday!

    Merry Christmas!

  4. Hi, Bunny — I have my guest blog post and photos ready for you to review. You may want to chop the article a little. I have a hard time chopping my own material but don’t mind if you do so. Will you please send me your e-mail address so that I can send you what I have? Thank you!

    Libbye Morris
    919-225-8894

    • Libbye – Did you get my e-mail sent from my hotmail account? If not, feel free to send me something at bkterrymarketing@gmail.com. Really looking forward to your post!


Leave a Reply

Categories

