Posted by: bunnyterry | December 18, 2009

Sunrise over Ute Lake

It’s a crisp Friday morning in New Mexico.  I’m lucky enough to live on a hill overlooking Ute Lake, so that when the sun comes up, the pinks and blues turn the lake a sort of irredescent purple.  Yesterday the sky was orange and the lake shimmered.

The lake is like glass this morning, and I’m online ordering the last of the Christmas  presents, something that we’re forced to do living out here in the sticks, but just let me say very quickly that one of the things I love best about New Mexico is this –  every day the sky is amazing.  It’s not hazy, like what I experienced in the eastern states, and there’s no pollution where I live.  It’s just this huge bowl of brilliant blue that stretches from horizon to horizon.  Georgia O’Keefe came here to spend the last years of her life because the sky and the landscape fascinated her.  I agree.

Leave a Reply

Categories

